Skip to content
September 19, 2007 / Ben Chun

Student Names

I just realized why I’m having a hard time learning student names. It’s not because I have so many of them compared to last year. It’s not because I have a lot of students with similar last names. It’s not even because I keep getting things turned in over email from “lilflyone713” instead of their real name. The reason is because I don’t see their faces!

Teaching math, I always had rows of faces looking up at the whiteboard, and at me if I stood in front of the class for long enough. Now, I have banks of computers facing different directions, and the kids have monitors in front of their heads most of the time. My previous method for learning names was putting a seating chart on a clipboard and looking at it as I looked at them to associate names and faces. I backed that up with some glances at their papers on their desks to see names as I walked around. Now I don’t have either of those, and it’s a lot harder to learn names!

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. tony lucchese / Sep 20 2007 4:10 am

    My physics class has almost 100 people in it. My professor, with our permission, took “mugshots” of each of us and posted them to his iPod to help him remember our names. Seems like you could do something like this for incoming emails.

  2. jess / Sep 20 2007 10:19 am

    gmail has an option where you can set your own photo for each contact. then when you hover your mouse over their email, it’ll pop up that picture and their real name. could that be utilized for this purpose?

Trackbacks

  1. iTALC « And Yet It Moves

Leave a Reply

