Skip to content
February 11, 2008 / Ben Chun

Copyright Presentation

I put together a little presentation about copyright, Creative Commons, and how to use search tools to find commons-licensed works for my 10th grade class. I actually built this last semester for my previous class, and I just cleaned it up to use again this week with the new batch of students. Since I used commons-licensed images from Flickr and cited them, there’s no reason I can’t share it. (See, see, it works!)

Download copyright.ppt
slide.gif

Creative Commons License
This PowerPoint presentation is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.

I do a lot more talking than I’ve indicated in the notes, and I don’t like to overload the slides with text. I’d love to get some feedback on this, especially if you see any important concepts I’ve left out.

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. BlogTeacher / Feb 12 2008 4:46 am

    That’s fantastic. I will certainly try that with my class the next time we cover copyright.

  2. Jim Lerman / Feb 12 2008 4:34 pm

    I think this is an outstanding presentation, Ben. It is very clear and direct, sets an example, and is presented in a very effective manner (i.e. lots of white space and very little print, excellent graphics that illustrate the point).
    I would love to see you do a follow up to this great work on explaining cc in the same kind of layman’s terms used in this preso. I’ve had a devil of a time in explaining stuff from the Creative Commons site and would eagerly welcome something that breaks it down as effectively as you have here with the even more complex concepts of copyright here.
    Kudos. Great work.

  3. Jim Lerman / Feb 12 2008 4:37 pm

    The speakers’ notes on the slides are also very good.
    Please excuse the typos and awkward language in the previous post.

  4. Ben Chun / Feb 12 2008 4:53 pm

    Thanks Jim. One thing I forgot to mention is that I also use the Creative Commons videos to give a little more detail about CC:
    http://creativecommons.org/about/ccvideos/

    I particularly like “Building on the Past”, because it too sets an example of how you can (re)use commons-licensed material for new purposes while explaining the important ideas clearly.

Trackbacks

  1. Meme: Passion Quilt « And Yet It Moves

Leave a Reply

