Skip to content
March 7, 2008 / Ben Chun

Blogging

I started a new unit with my freshman class this week about blogs. I gave a little talk about how publishing (and along with that, reading and writing) had changed dramatically in the 15 or so years they had been alive. Then I had them search for blogs about topics that interest them and post links on Moodle. The following day they wrote their own first blog post in Moodle. I’m looking forward to having them explore this further, and perhaps even set up RSS readers so they can subscribe to some blogs and really start to engage.

One regret: I wish I had shown Blogs in Plain English from the commoncraft show. Maybe I’ll have them watch it next week…

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Ben Chun / Mar 11 2008 8:46 pm

    Update: I decided to go for it. My first experience with video on the desktop. Up until now, all the video I’ve shown in this class has been on a screen with everyone watching at the same time. It will be interesting to see if this causes any network problems or classroom management problems. I’ll report back.

Leave a Reply

