Skip to content
March 14, 2008 / Ben Chun

Meme: Passion Quilt

I got tagged by Alfred Thompson for this meme. I usually don’t go in for these sorts of chain-letter things, but since I like to give Alfred a hard time, I figure I’ll play along and be a good sport. Even if he did break the first rule about using a commons-licensed image, which is something that I teach 10th grade students how to do correctly.

Oh yes, The Official Rules:

  • Post a picture from a source like FlickrCC or Flickr Creative Commons or make/take your own that captures what YOU are most passionate about for kids to learn about…and give your picture a short title.
  • Title your blog post “Meme: Passion Quilt” and link back to this blog entry.
  • Include links to 5 folks in your professional learning network or whom you follow on Twitter/Pownce.

And now, the photo — taken by EricGjerde and published on Flickr under a CC Attribution-Noncommercial license. I think he’s a really good folder.

If I were title this image (to explain why I chose it), I would call this “Putting A Twist On Everything”. I believe strongly in non-routine problem solving, asking hard questions, surprises, and generally stepping outside of the expected. It’s easy in life, and particularly in education, to become habituated to our routines and to stop really thinking. It takes a twist to change that. Oh, and I like it when they learn about tessellation.

Now for the pyramid scheme portion of this post. My five tags are:

Dan Meyer (dy/dan)
Richard Kassissieh (Kassblog)
Tim Wilson (The Savvy Technologist)
Kim Cofino (always learning)
Patrick Delaney (homoLudens)

Don’t worry — I won’t take offense if you don’t want to participate. Nothing bad will happen to you, your family, your computer, your luck, or anything else if you fail to pass this on to five more people.

Leave a Reply

