Skip to content
April 17, 2008 / Ben Chun

Planning Tools

I’m wondering if anyone has great suggestions for OS X or web-based curriculum planning tools. I guess I’m looking for something that can do outlining, a calendar, and maybe make it easy for me to plan multiple courses in one view. (Ideally in a way that’s easy to share between multiple users, so we can try to align things across the curriculum.)

In the past I’ve used OmniOutliner, and I made it work for me, but I’m hoping to find something a little more calendar-based. Here’s a little screenshot from last year:

Does anyone use iCal for curriculum planning? I’ve never used Basecamp, is this the sort of thing it would be good at?

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. David Barrios / Apr 17 2008 11:40 am

    I have tried iCal. The problem with that and with similar calendar apps (google calendar comes to mind) is that in month view you only see the titles. If there was a way to show a little detail in month view or even weekly view I would totally use it. Currently, the only thing that gives me a complete overview at a glance is a basic excel spreadsheet. I make one for the year (for units and timing) and a monthly one that has the basic agenda on it per day.

    I personally have to be able to see the info arranged calendar style.

  2. Simon Job / Jan 6 2009 9:31 pm

    I know this is an old post, but for whatever reason it popped up in Google Reader today.

    Did you find an app? Today, MacHeist has launched and have Process for free
    http://www.macheist.com/
    http://www.jumsoft.com/process/

    It might be what you’re looking for.
    Personally, I just use Excel.

Leave a Reply

