Skip to content
September 15, 2008 / Ben Chun

No Teacher Desk

I’m trying a new experiment: no teacher desk in the classroom. I brought a hex key set to work today and reassembled my rolling desk cart into a standing-only kiosk.

Not-Desk

I’ve already noticed that I get more tired from standing. But I like the idea of making the terminal a place that’s no more comfortable than standing at a whiteboard. It reminds me that even with computers in the room, I still need to walk around a lot and sit with individual students while they work.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Alfred Thompson / Sep 16 2008 2:28 am

    I had a standing desk in most of the labs I taught in. It does take some getting used to but after a month or so you may wonder why you ever had a sitting one. Standing all class is easier in some ways then getting up and down all the time. Well for someone my age anyway. :-) Besides like you point out, in a lab one should be walking around most of the time anyway.

  2. Leigh Ann / Sep 16 2008 11:18 am

    I’ve worked with several teachers who used standing, rolling carts. They would sit their laptop on the cart and roll around the room so they could both maintain control of the screen and be mobile at the same time. There are many lightweight tablets that would work just to carry around too. Although from the look of the rows in your room its not always easy to “stand behind” different users.

Leave a Reply

