Skip to content
October 13, 2008 / Ben Chun

A Dream

Last night, I put my laptop down near my bed. This morning, I slept in (no school due to the Columbus Day holiday) and thus remembered my dreams more easily. I almost never remember my dreams unless I’ve gotten an excess of sleep and can spend time in that lovely half-awake state of knowing I don’t have to get up at any particular time. Apparently I can type from that place, because I just found this in a text window:

him: i want to make a system in which the students and the teachers roles are delivered in the form of a game

me: if we make an educational game or assignment an accurate and complex simulation of real life, in the limit there is no separation between the world and the school. the trick is to select and extract the subset of experiences that give practice with the most fundamental skills, the foundation upon which future learning by doing can be structured.

I don’t remember any other context. But I have to say, this is a lot better than the nightmares about screaming at the class while no one listens that I used to have when I was first teaching.

Leave a Reply

